Stumbling Blocks

Why do people put stumbling blocks in our way- Is it because of Jealousy? Vindictiveness? Insecurity?  Whatever the reason, why don’t these people mind their own business? 

stumbling

Let’s be real there are a lot of people in the world who enjoy blocking and destroying the hopes and dreams of others.

This week I experienced a personal stumbling block in my job – I was due for a promotion but others felt that I was too young. They met with administration,hinting at legal action,so I was told that I may have to wait two (2) years more to be given the post. What a load of crock!!!!

So here was MY stumbling block – what do I do with it?

I admit it, I was depressed after hearing this news.  The promotion meant more work and a barely noticeable increase in salary, but I was looking forward to the challenge and experience of the new position.

Is there a lesson to be learnt from this experience? Is it that the world is filled with backstabbers? Beyond that ….

After reflecting on it a bit more, I came to the conclusion that the aim of these individuals was to stagnate me, to keep me at their level so that they would not feel inferior. Their objective was to dent my self-esteem and dampen my dreams.If I allowed myself to wallow in self-pity and see only the negative then am I not allowing them to WIN.

I refuse to allow such shallow people to  conquer my spirit and steal my joy!!!!!

stumbling blocks

Instead I intend to hold my head high, never letting others see my disappointment. I see this as an opportunity to show administration what they missed out on when they did not promote me. Nothing happens without a reason, so maybe I need to remain in my current position to make a difference in the lives of more people.

I refuse to see this as failure, rather as a longer journey to the same path.

block2

So for many of you being blocked by petty people on your journey of life. Keep your head and chin UP, NEVER let them see your sadness/disappointment, ACCEPT that your journey just took a Detour not a Dead-End and MAKE that choice to be optimistic.

Don’t worry, they will get what is coming to them, after all,Karma is a Bitch!!

 

About francophilediva

I love everything french even though I have never been there. I am learning to love life and live life to the fullest.
This entry was posted in Living, Optimism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.