Sidekick Dilemna

According to the Webster dictionary, a sidekick is someone who helps and spends time with another who is more powerfu or important; a person closely associated with another as a subordinate or partner.

In response to the prompt from The Daily Post ,I have never been nor will I ever be a sidekick. I see nothing wrong with spending quality time with myself, appreciating my own quirks, recognizing my personal flaws, laughing at my own jokes (most likely others won’t find my jokes as funny) and exploring new worlds contained within the countless books I’ve read. 

It is not to say that I am introverted, shy or anti-social, far from it actually. I have quite a few acquaintances but no TRUE friends and isn’t that what you want in a ‘sidekick’? Someone who knows your flaws yet will walk over hot coals for you. I have yet to find such a person who would walk over hot coals for me and vice versa. 

On my journey of self-awareness,I have learnt that there is absolutely nothing wrong with Not having a sidekick. And though I am aware that ‘no man is an island’ I am practising to LOVE Me and Myself,a whole lot more.

About francophilediva

I love everything french even though I have never been there. I am learning to love life and live life to the fullest.
This entry was posted in Friendship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.