Stop Speeding!

Have you ever felt that life was racing by you? Yes,I realize that it is a car metaphor but if it fits why the hell not use it!

This blog is my attempt at learning to ‘cruise’. Learning that life is not about working, doing for others and leaving yourself undone. Life is not about fulfilling the expectations of others and keeping your dreams suppressed. Life is about living, smelling the flowers (smelling the roses sounded Too corny), self-reflection, doing things that make you happy not just loved ones.

A few weeks ago, looking into a mirror that showed my acne covered face ( I break out when stressed) I decided, on the spur of the moment, to take a day off work. I stayed at home in my pajamas, didn’t comb my hair,I didn’t cook and ate junk food all day. I spent much of my day out in my backyard, away from the prying eyes of my neighbours of course, enjoying cool breezes,the soft tones of nature  and the serenity of the water feature in the yard.

Then it hit me that the world did not stop spinning, my loved ones ate take-out without complaint, my co-workers did their work as usual and I felt pleasantly relaxed.

Of course, reality set in that night! I had bills to pay, food and gas for the car to buy and all the other miscellaneous stuff that we need and can’t get for free. What a dilemna!! What I have learnt thus far, is that a balance must be made between the commitments of everyday life and the necessity of living.

So that’s what I intend to to do. I want to know that if I died tomorrow, I would be able to say I lived. How is it that some people who have experienced more heartache, tragedy and disabilities find a way to smile and keep a positive outlook on lfe? I will let you in on the secret I recently found out- They make the decision to live  each and every day.

Let’s do that together- you and me.

“And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.”

                 Abraham Lincoln

We can't change the past but we can alter the Now

We can’t change the past but we can alter the Now

 

About francophilediva

I love everything french even though I have never been there. I am learning to love life and live life to the fullest.
This entry was posted in Living and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.